Charging & Range

POWERING
CHANGE

The Nissan LEAF® has zero emissions, so it doesn't even need a tailpipe. The battery, which is half the weight and twice the power of the nickel-metal hydride batteries used in hybrids, gives you an ultra-efficient ride. It powers an advanced 80kW AC synchronous electric motor for the quietest, smoothest ride you've ever experienced.

Nissan LEAF Electric Car Battery

THE SCIENCE OF DRIVING


Nissan LEAF Electric Car Battery Video

The New Fuel

THE NEW FUEL

Look under the hood and you’ll notice a few things that you normally find in a gasoline-powered vehicle are missing. That’s because it’s 100% electric. The Nissan LEAF® stores its power in 48 lithium-ion battery modules with an advanced design that fits snuggly under the floor boards. This not only helps optimize interior comfort and space, but also means a low center of gravity for seriously fun handling.

Nissan LEAF Regenerative Braking Video

The New Brakes

THE NEW BRAKES

Every time you coast or apply the brakes in the Nissan LEAF® the electric motor acts as an electric generator, converting energy that would otherwise be wasted into battery energy. So even when you’re slowing down, you’re charging up.

BATTERY LIFE

CELL POWER

The standard 24 kWh or the optionnal 30kWh lithium-ion battery stores its energy to power the 80 kW AC motor in 48 lithium-ion modules. Each module contains four lithium-ion battery cells and provides enough power to the motor to generate 187 lb-ft of torque off the line, and 107 horsepower.

 
Nissan LEAF Electric Car 24kWh Rechargeable Lithium-Ion Battery

LITHIUM-ION BATTERY WARRANTY

PROTECTING YOU

Every Canadian specification Nissan LEAF® is backed by a New Vehicle Limited Warranty providing: 36-month/60,000 kilometer basic coverage (whichever occurs earlier); 60-month/100,000 kilometer powertrain and electric vehicle system coverage (whichever occurs earlier); and 96 months/160,000 kilometer Lithium-Ion Battery coverage (whichever occurs earlier). [*] For extra protection you can also add Security+Plus®, the only extended service agreement approved by Nissan.

8 Year
Guarantee


160,000 Kilometers

Lithium-ion Battery Gradual Capacity Loss:

In addition to the Lithium-ion Battery Coverage for defects in materials or workmanship (96 months/160,000 kilometers), the Nissan LEAF® Lithium-ion battery is also warranted against capacity loss below nine bars of capacity as shown on the vehicle’s battery capacity level gauge. See your Owner's Manual for tips on maximizing battery life and capacity.

Blue Nissan LEAF Electric Car Battery

Recharge Et Autonomie

CHANGEMENT DE MODE D'ALIMENTATION

Comme la Nissan LEAFMD ne produit aucune émission, elle n'a pas besoin d'un système d'échappement. La batterie, deux fois plus légère et deux fois plus puissante que les batteries de nickel-métal-hydrure qui alimentent les hybrides, vous assure une conduite ultra économe. Elle alimente un moteur électrique synchrone de 80 kW à courant alternatif de pointe pour vous offrir une conduite silencieuse et fluide comme vous n'en avez jamais fait l'expérience.

Nissan LEAF Electric Car Battery

LA SCIENCE DE LA CONDUITE


Nissan LEAF Electric Car Battery Video

LE NOUVEAU CARBURANT

Regardez sous le capot et vous verrez qu'il manque quelques éléments que l'on trouve normalement sur une voiture munie d'un moteur à essence. C'est parce que la Nissan LEAFMD est entièrement électrique. Cette voiture stocke son énergie dans les 48 modules de la batterie au lithium-ion, dont le design perfectionné permet de l'encastrer parfaitement sous les panneaux du plancher. Cela aide non seulement à optimiser le confort et l'espace dans l'habitacle, mais se traduit aussi par un centre de gravité plus bas permettant une conduite plus divertissante.

Nissan LEAF Regenerative Braking Video

LES NOUVEAUX FREINS

Chaque fois que vous descendez une côte ou que vous appliquez les freins de votre Nissan LEAFMD, le moteur électrique agit comme une génératrice et convertit l'énergie qui serait autrement perdue en énergie pour la batterie. Ainsi, même lorsque vous ralentissez, vous rechargez votre voiture.

DURÉE DE LA BATTERIE

ÉNERGIE CELLULAIRE

La batterie au lithium-ion de 30 kWh stocke son énergie afin d'alimenter le moteur de 80 kW à courant alternatif dans 48 modules au lithium-ion. Chaque module contient quatre cellules de la batterie au lithium-ion et fournit assez d'énergie pour alimenter le moteur, afin que celui-ci puisse développer 107 ch et générer 187 lb-pi de couple au départ.

 
Nissan LEAF Electric Car 24kWh Rechargeable Lithium-Ion Battery

GARANTIE DE LA BATTERIE AU LITHIUM-ION

ASSURER VOTRE PROTECTION

Tous les véhicules canadiens Nissan LEAFMD sont couverts par la garantie limitée des véhicules neufs : une garantie de base de 36 mois/60 000 km (selon l’éventualité qui survient en premier); une garantie de 60 mois/100 000 km (selon l'éventualité qui survient en premier) sur le groupe motopropulseur et le système du véhicule électrique; et une garantie de 96 mois/160 000 km (selon l'éventualité qui survient en premier) sur la batterie au lithium-ion [*] Pour une protection supplémentaire, vous pouvez également demander le programme Securité+PlusMD, la seule entente de service prolongé approuvée par Nissan.

Garantie
de ans
8


160 000 kilomètres

Diminution de la capacité de la batterie au lithium-ion :

En plus de la garantie couvrant les défauts de matériau ou de fabrication (96 mois/160 000 km) de la batterie au lithium-ion, la batterie au lithium-ion de la Nissan LEAFMD est également garantie contre la perte de capacité dans l’éventualité où elle passe sous le seuil des 9 barres sur l’indicateur de capacité de la batterie du véhicule. Consultez le manuel du propriétaire pour obtenir des conseils sur la façon de maximiser la durée de vie utile et la capacité de la batterie.

Blue Nissan LEAF Electric Car Battery