Nissan Canada Extended Services Inc. Privacy Policy

Nissan Canada Extended Services Inc.(“NCESI”) is a member of the Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. group of companies. Any personal information gathered by NCESI will only be used by NCESI, Nissan Canada Inc. (“Nissan”), its affiliates, Nissan dealers, or any service providers authorized by NCESI or Nissan, in a manner consistent with this Privacy Policy and for the purposes of enhancing your Nissan experience in providing you with our extended warranty service programme. NCESI is committed to respecting your privacy and has adopted this Policy Statement to inform you of our policy and practices concerning the collection, use and disclosure of Personal Information. NCESI is committed to fulfilling the privacy principles articulated by Nissan Canada Inc. 

Your provision of Personal Information to NCESI means that you agree and consent that we may collect, use and disclose your Personal Information in accordance with this Privacy Policy. If you do not agree with these terms, you are requested not to provide any Personal Information to NCESI. Unfortunately, certain services can only be offered if you provide Personal Information to NCESI. Consequently, if you choose not to provide us with any required Personal Information, NCESI may not be able to offer you those services. We note that you are always entitled to opt-out of receiving marketing information either by contacting NCESI as provided below or following instructions on any marketing sent to you.

1. Objective & Scope of Policy

This Policy Statement governs Personal Information collected from and about individuals who are or may become Customers and those other individuals or partners with whom we work. It does not govern Personal Information NCESI collects from and about our employees. This policy also does not cover aggregated data from which the identity of an individual cannot be determined. Nissan retains the right to use aggregated data in any way that it determines appropriate.

This Policy Statement also governs how NCESI treats Personal Information in connection with your use of our web site.

Using contractual or other arrangements, NCESI requires agents, contractors or third party service providers, who may receive Personal Information in the course of providing services to protect that Personal Information in a manner consistent with the principles articulated in this Policy Statement.

2. The Collection, Use of Personal Information

For the purposes of this Policy:

"Customer" means an individual who has purchased products or services from NCESI;

"Dealer" means (i) an individual who is appointed as a non-exclusive dealer of Nissan products and services and (ii) an employee of such an individual;

"External Associate" means an individual, other than a Customer or Dealer, who is not an employee of Nissan. An External Associate may be an individual or an employee of an organization with which Nissan has dealings in the normal course of business. Examples of External Associates include independent contractors or service providers, legal counsel, consultants and business partners (in some provinces we may partner with insurance companies to enrol and provide you with our products and services);

"Personal Information" means any information, recorded in any form, about an identified individual, or an individual whose identity may be inferred or determined from such information.

NCESI uses the Personal Information provided verbally or in writing (including via electronic media such as e-mail or the World Wide Web) by Customers and Dealers in order to:

  • Provide you with its extended warranty services and benefits described in your Extended Warranty Plan and communicate any important information which may impact your Extended Warranty Plan;
  • To Track products and services purchased and respond to customer inquiries when requested;
  • To Provide you with marketing information about products and services that we think may interest you either directly by NCESI, indirectly through affiliated companies or third party suppliers or through Nissan Dealers (unless you choose to opt out of receiving marketing information);
  • Manage our relationship with Nissan Canada Inc. and Nissan Dealers;
  • Meet any legal or regulatory requirement; and
  • Such other purposes consistent with the foregoing purposes.

NCESI's use of Personal Information is limited to these purposes. Personal information will be collected, to the extent possible, directly from the individual concerned. Due to our role as a service provider to Nissan Canada Inc., we may receive information that you have provided to Nissan Canada Inc. or its dealers in order to provide our services. NCESI does not knowingly collect Personal Information from anyone under the age of 18, and does not use such information if NCESI discovers that it has been provided by a minor.

3. The Disclosure of Personal Information

NCESI does not sell, trade, barter or exchange for consideration any Personal Information it has obtained.

Please note that there are circumstances where the use and/or disclosure of Personal Information may be justified or permitted or where NCESI is obliged to disclose information without consent. Such circumstances may include:

  • Where required by law or by order or requirement of a court, administrative agency or other governmental tribunal;
  • Where NCESI believes, upon reasonable grounds, that it is necessary to protect the rights, privacy, safety or property of an identifiable person or group;
  • Where it is necessary to establish or collect monies owing to NCESI;
  • Where it is necessary to permit NCESI to pursue available remedies or limit any damages that NCESI may sustain; or
  • Where the information is public.

Where obliged or permitted to disclose information without consent, NCESI will not disclose more information than is required.

Personal Information may also be subject to transfer to another company in the event of a change of ownership of all or part of NCESI. This will occur only if the parties have entered into an agreement under which the collection, use and disclosure of the information is restricted to those purposes that relate to the business transaction, including a determination whether or not to proceed with the business transaction, and is to be used by the parties to carry out and complete the business transaction.

NCESI may provide Personal Information of Customers to External Associates. Personal Information will only be provided to External Associates if they agree to use such information solely for the purposes of providing services to NCESI and under the instruction of NCESI and, with respect to that information, to act in a manner consistent with the relevant principles articulated in this Policy.

4. Accuracy

NCESI endeavours to ensure that any Personal Information provided by its Customers and Dealers and in its possession is as accurate, current and complete as necessary for the purposes for which NCESI uses that data. Information contained in files that have been closed is not actively updated or maintained and will be archived or deleted.

5. Retention

NCESI retains Personal Information as long as NCESI believes it is necessary to fulfil the purpose for which it was collected. Currently, the principle places in which NCESI holds Personal Information is in the City of Mississauga, Ontario and in the City of Denver, Colorado. Nissan has in place a Records Retention Policy, which outlines the procedures for the retention and subsequent disposition of Nissan records including those records that contain Personal Information.

7. Security

NCESI endeavours to maintain adequate physical, procedural and technical security with respect to its offices and information storage facilities so as to prevent any loss, misuse, unauthorized access, disclosure, or modification of Personal Information

NCESI further protects Personal Information by restricting access to it to those employees and External Associates that the management of NCESI has determined need to know that information in order that NCESI may provide its products or services.

In terms of communicating Personal Information to NCESI, you may wish to note that there is no method of transmitting or storing data that is completely secure. While the physical characteristics of each are different, mail, telephone calls, faxes and transmissions over the Internet are all susceptible to possible loss, misrouting, interception and misuse of the information being communicated or transmitted.

As do many organizations, NCESI attempts to strike a reasonable balance between security and convenience. In communicating with Customers and Dealers, NCESI reserves the right to use a method of communication that is less secure than some of its less convenient alternatives. An example of this is e-mail. At this time, when we use e-mail, it is sent as unencrypted plain text. We do this because NCESI believes that many of our Customers and affiliates cannot readily process encrypted e-mail. This is done for their convenience but has the security concern that, if misrouted or intercepted, it could be read more easily than encrypted e-mail.

7. Visiting Nissan and NCESI Web Sites

With respect to its web sites, NCESI collects information from site visitors through the use of cookies. "Cookies" are files or pieces of information that may be stored in your computer's hard drive when you visit any of our web sites. Cookies are also used to remember that you may have already provided Personal Information to us and as a result, they help speed up your future activities when accessing any of our web sites. The cookies are persistent cookies and reside on your Internet browser for six (6) months. NCESI does not share Personal Information obtained through cookies with any third parties that do not agree to use such information solely for the purposes of providing services to NCESI and under the instruction of NCESI and, with respect to that information, to act in a manner consistent with the relevant principles articulated in this Policy.

Most Internet browsers are initially set to accept cookies. If you do not wish to accept cookies, you can set yours to refuse cookies or to alert you when cookies are being sent. Please refer to your software manual or Internet provider for instructions.

In addition to Personal Information you provide and cookies, NCESI may collect other information about your visits to our web sites. For example, we may collect information about your computer, such as your IP address (a number assigned to your computer whenever you surf the World Wide Web); the type of Internet browser you are using; the type of computer operating system you are using; or the domain name of the web site from which you linked to our Websites. This information will not be linked to your Personal Information and will only be collected in the aggregate in connection with all the users of our Websites for planning, forecasting and/or evaluation purposes.

NCESI has no control over the content of third party web sites that may be identified on the NCESI web site or, if applicable, accessed through hyperlinks.

8. Access to Personal information

NCESI permits access to and review of Personal Information held by NCESI about an individual by the individual concerned. If an individual believes any Personal Information concerning that individual is not correct, that person may request an update of that information by sending a request to the person indicated in Section 10 of this Policy. NCESI reserves the right not to change any Personal Information but will append any alternative text the individual concerned believes appropriate. An individual may also request that NCESI delete an individual's Personal Information from NCESI's system and records. However, due to technical constraints and the fact that NCESI backs up its systems, Personal Information may continue to reside in NCESI's systems after deletion. Individuals, therefore, should not expect that their Personal Information would be completely removed from NCESI systems in response to an accepted request for deletion.

NCESI reserves the right to decline access to Personal Information where the information requested:

a) Would disclose the Personal Information of another individual or of a deceased individual;
b) Would disclose business confidential information that may harm NCESI or the competitive position of a third party;
c) Is subject to solicitor-client or litigation privilege;
d) Could reasonably result in: 

   (i) serious harm to the treatment or recovery of the individual concerned;
   (ii) serious emotional harm to the individual or another individual; or
   (iii) serious bodily harm to another individual;

e) May harm or interfere with law enforcement activities and other investigative or regulatory functions of a body authorized by statute to perform such functions;
f) Is not readily retrievable and the burden or cost of providing would be disproportionate to the nature or value of the information; or
g) Does not exist, is not held, or cannot be found by NCESI.

Where information will not or cannot be disclosed, the individual making the request will be provided with the reasons for non-disclosure.

Where information will be disclosed, NCESI will endeavor to provide the information in question within a reasonable time and no later than 30 days following the request.

NCESI will not respond to repetitious or vexatious requests for access. In determining whether a request is repetitious or vexatious, it will consider such factors as the frequency with which information is updated, the purpose for which the information is used, and the nature of the information.

To guard against fraudulent requests for access, NCESI will require sufficient information to allow it to confirm the identity of the person making the request before granting access or making corrections.

9. Amendment of NCESI Practices and This Policy

This statement is in effect as of May 1, 2008. NCESI will from time to time review and revise its privacy practices and this Policy Statement. In the event of any amendment, an appropriate notice will be posted on NCESI web sites and communicated to our Dealers, and provided to our Customers upon request. Policy changes will apply to the information collected from the date of posting of the revised Policy Statement to NCESI's web site as well as to existing information held by NCESI.

10. Contact Us

In the event of questions about: (i) access to your Personal Information; (ii) NCESI’s collection, use, management or disclosure of Personal Information; or (iii) this Policy Statement; please contact:

Customer Information Centre
Nissan Canada Extended Services Inc. 
5290 Orbitor Drive Mississauga, ON L4W 4Z5 
Toll-free number: 1-800-387-0122
Fax: 905-629-6553

Please also contact us at to do any of the following:

  • to request a copy of your Personal Information
  • to ask that we not contact you
  • to report any violations of the Privacy Policy

Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels de Nissan Canada Extended Services Inc.

Nissan Canada Extended Services Inc. (NCESI) est membre du groupe de sociétés Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. Tous les renseignements personnels recueillis par NCESI ne seront utilisés que par NCESI, Nissan Canada Inc. (Nissan), les membres de son groupe, les concessionnaires Nissan ou tout fournisseur de services ayant été autorisé à le faire par NCESI ou Nissan et ce, dans le respect de la présente politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels et dans le but d'améliorer votre expérience Nissan en ce qui a trait au programme de garantie prolongée de service de NCESI. NCESI s'engage à protéger votre vie privée et a adopté le présent énoncé de politique afin de vous informer de ses politiques et de ses pratiques concernant la collecte, l'utilisation et la divulgation de renseignements personnels. NCESI s’engage également à appliquer les principes exprimés par Nissan Canada Inc. en matière de vie privée.

En fournissant des renseignements personnels à votre sujet à NCESI, vous consentez à ce que celle-ci puisse recueillir, utiliser et divulguer ces renseignements conformément à la présente politique. Si vous n’êtes pas d’accord avec ces conditions, NCESI vous demande de ne pas fournir de renseignements personnels vous concernant. Malheureusement, la prestation de certains services nécessite que vous fournissiez des renseignements personnels à Nissan. Par conséquent, si vous décidez de ne pas fournir de renseignements personnels à NCESI, celle ci ne pourrait pas être en mesure de vous offrir ces services. Veuillez noter qu’il vous est toujours possible de choisir de ne pas recevoir des renseignements à caractère commercial de notre part, soit en communicant avec NCESI de la façon prévue ci dessous ou en suivant les instructions figurant dans les renseignements à caractère commercial que vous recevez.

1. Objectif et portée de la politique

Le présent énoncé de politique régit les renseignements personnels obtenus de personnes qui sont des clients actuels ou potentiels ou de personnes ou partenaires avec qui nous travaillons, ou les concernant. Le présent énoncé ne régit pas les renseignements personnels obtenus par NCESI de notre personnel ou le concernant. De plus, le présent énoncé de politique ne régit pas les données cumulatives à partir desquelles l'identité d'une personne ne peut pas être déterminée. Nissan se réserve le droit d'utiliser les données cumulatives de la façon qu’elle juge appropriée.

Le présent énoncé de politique régit aussi la façon dont NCESI traite les renseignements personnels en ce qui concerne votre utilisation du site Web de NCESI.

Grâce à des ententes contractuelles ou autres, NCESI exige de ses représentants, entrepreneurs ou tiers fournisseurs de services qui reçoivent des renseignements personnels dans le cours de la prestation de services, qu’ils assurent la protection des renseignements personnels selon les principes exprimés dans le présent énoncé de politique.

2. La collecte et l’utilisation des renseignements personnels

Aux fins de l’application de la présente politique :

« Client » désigne une personne qui a acheté des produits ou des services auprès de NCESI;

« Concessionnaire » désigne (i) une personne qui a été nommée comme concessionnaire non exclusif de produits et de services Nissan et (ii) un membre du personnel de ce concessionnaire;

« Associé externe » désigne une personne, autre qu’un client ou un concessionnaire, qui n’est pas un membre du personnel de Nissan. Il peut s’agir d’une personne ou d’un membre du personnel d’un organisme avec lequel Nissan entretient une relation d’affaires dans le cours normal de ses activités commerciales, y sont compris, notamment, les entrepreneurs ou les fournisseurs de services indépendants, les conseillers juridiques, les experts-conseils et les partenaires commerciaux (notamment, dans certaines provinces, les sociétés d’assurances à qui on demande de vous fournir nos produits et services);

« Renseignements personnels » signifie les renseignements consignés sous quelque forme que ce soit, au sujet d’une personne identifiée ou d’une personne dont l’identité peut être devinée ou déterminée à partir de ces renseignements.

NCESI utilise les renseignements personnels fournis verbalement ou par écrit (y compris par voie électronique comme le courrier électronique ou le Web) par les clients et les concessionnaires aux fins suivantes :

  • fournir aux clients de NCESI des services et des avantages visés par la garantie prolongée, lesquels sont décrits à votre Plan de garantie prolongée et communiquer des renseignements importants susceptibles d’avoir une incidence sur votre Plan de garantie prolongée;
  • repérer les produits et services achetés par les clients et répondre aux demandes de ceux ci en temps opportun;
  • fournir aux clients des renseignements à caractère commercial sur nos produits et services, que nous considérons d’intérêt pour les clients, soit directement de NCESI, indirectement par l’intermédiaire de sociétés affiliées ou de tiers fournisseurs ou par l’intermédiaire des concessionnaires Nissan (à moins que le client n’ait choisi de ne pas recevoir pareils renseignements à caractère commercial).
  • gérer nos relations avec Nissan Canada Inc. et les concessionnaires Nissan;
  • respecter les exigences des lois et des règlements; et
  • les fins compatibles à celles énoncées ci-dessus.

L’utilisation des renseignements personnels par NCESI se limite à ces fins. Les renseignements personnels sont recueillis, dans la mesure du possible, directement auprès de la personne concernée. En raison de notre rôle de fournisseur de services auprès de Nissan Canada Inc., nous pouvons recevoir des renseignements que le client a fournis à Nissan Canada Inc. ou à ses concessionnaires de manière à ce que la société puisse fournir ses services. NCESI ne recueille pas sciemment des renseignements personnels auprès de personnes âgées de moins de 18 ans et elle n’utilise pas de tels renseignements si elle découvre qu’ils ont été fournis par une personne mineure.

3. La divulgation de renseignements personnels

NCESI ne vend ni n’échange pour quelque considération que ce soit les renseignements personnels qu’elle obtient.

Veuillez prendre note qu’il y a des circonstances dans lesquelles l’utilisation et(ou) la divulgation de renseignements personnels peuvent être justifiées ou permises ou dans lesquelles NCESI est obligée de divulguer des renseignements personnels sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’obtenir un consentement. Par exemple, dans les cas suivants :

  • lorsque la loi ou une ordonnance ou une exigence d’un tribunal, d’un organisme gouvernemental ou de toute autre instance gouvernementale l’exige;
  • lorsque NCESI est d’avis, en se fondant sur des motifs raisonnables, qu’il est nécessaire de protéger les droits, la vie privée, la sécurité ou les biens d’une personne ou d’un groupe identifiable;
  • lorsqu’il est nécessaire d’établir le montant des sommes dues à NCESI et de percevoir ces sommes;
  • lorsqu’il est nécessaire de permettre à NCESI de se prévaloir de recours dont elle dispose ou de limiter les dommages qu’elle pourrait subir; ou
  • lorsque le renseignement est de nature publique.

NCESI ne divulguera pas plus de renseignements que nécessaire lorsqu’elle est obligée ou qu’il lui est permis de divulguer des renseignements sans consentement.

Les renseignements personnels peuvent aussi être transférés à une autre entreprise dans l’éventualité d’un changement de propriétaire d’une partie ou de la totalité des activités de NCESI. Un tel transfert ne sera possible que si les parties ont conclu une entente selon laquelle la collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation de renseignements sont limitées aux fins se rapportant à la transaction commerciale, y compris la détermination de procéder ou non à la transaction commerciale, et selon laquelle les renseignements ainsi recueillis doivent être utilisés par les parties dans le but d’exécuter la transaction commerciale ou de la mener à bien.

NCESI peut fournir des renseignements personnels au sujet des clients à des associés externes. Les renseignements personnels ne seront pas transmis aux associés externes à condition qu’ils acceptent d’utiliser ces renseignements uniquement dans le but de fournir des services à NCESI et selon les instructions de NCESI , et en ce qui a trait à ces renseignements personnels, d’agir selon les principes pertinents énoncés dans la présente politique.

4. Exactitude des renseignements

NCESI vise à s’assurer que tous les renseignements personnels fournis par ses clients et ses concessionnaires, et qu’elle détient en sa possession, sont exacts, à jour et complets selon les fins pour lesquelles elle les utilise. Les renseignements des dossiers fermés ne sont pas mis à jour et ils sont soit archivés, soit supprimés.

5. Conservation des dossiers

NCESI conserve les renseignements personnels aussi longtemps qu’elle le juge nécessaire pour les fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis. En ce moment, les données sont conservées principalement à Mississauga, en Ontario, et à Denver, au Colorado. Nissan a établi une Politique sur la conservation des dossiers qui définit les procédures relatives à la conservation et éventuellement à la disposition des dossiers de Nissan, y compris les dossiers contenant des renseignements personnels.

6. Sécurité

NCESI s’emploie à maintenir une sécurité physique, procédurale et technique adéquate dans ses bureaux et ses entrepôts de stockage de données, afin d’éviter la perte, l’utilisation inappropriée, l’accès non autorisé, la divulgation ou la modification de renseignements personnels.

De plus, NCESI protège les renseignements personnels en en restreignant l’accès aux membres du personnel et aux associés externes que la direction de NCESI a déterminé comme devant avoir accès à ces renseignements afin que NCESI puisse fournir ses produits et services.

En ce qui concerne la communication de renseignements personnels à NCESI , il n’existe aucune méthode de transmission ou de stockage des données qui soit complètement sécuritaire. Même si les caractéristiques physiques des lettres, des appels téléphoniques, des télécopies et des communications transmises par Internet sont différentes, tous ces moyens de communication peuvent donner lieu à la perte, à l’acheminement erroné, à l’interception et à l’utilisation inappropriée des renseignements communiqués ou transmis.

À l’instar de nombreuses entreprises, NCESI tente d’atteindre un équilibre raisonnable entre la sécurité et la commodité. Lors de ses communications avec les clients et les concessionnaires, NCESI se réserve le droit d’utiliser un moyen de communication moins sécuritaire que certains autres moyens de communication moins pratiques. À titre d’exemple, le courriel. En ce moment, lorsque nous utilisons le courriel, nous envoyons un texte clair non chiffré, parce que nous croyons que nombre de nos clients et de membres de notre groupe n’ont pas les moyens techniques nécessaires au décryptage des courriels. Ce moyen est employé par commodité; cependant, il n’est pas sécuritaire, car n’étant pas chiffré, il peut être mal acheminé ou intercepté et lu plus facilement.

7. Consultation de sites Web Nissan et NCESI

En ce qui concerne ses sites Web, NCESI recueille des renseignements des visiteurs de ses sites grâce à des témoins. Les « témoins » sont des fichiers ou des pièces d'information qui peuvent être placés sur le disque dur de votre ordinateur quand vous visitez nos sites Web. Les témoins sont aussi utilisés pour rappeler que vous nous avez peut-être déjà fourni des renseignements personnels à votre sujet et par conséquent, ils accélèrent vos futures consultations de nos sites. Les témoins demeurent sur votre fureteur Internet pendant six (6) mois. NCESI ne partage pas les renseignements personnels obtenus grâce aux témoins avec des tiers qui n’acceptent pas d’utiliser ces renseignements uniquement dans le but de fournir des services à NCESI et selon les instructions que NCESI et, en ce qui a trait à ces renseignements, selon les principes exprimés dans la présente politique.

La plupart des fureteurs Internet sont réglés à l’origine pour accepter les témoins. Si vous ne voulez pas que votre ordinateur accepte automatiquement les témoins, vous pouvez modifier les paramètres pour qu'ils soient refusés ou que vous soyez avisé avant qu'ils vous soient tranmis. Veuillez consulter le manuel de votre logiciel ou votre fournisseur Internet pour connaître les instructions à cet égard.

In terms of communicating Personal Information to NCESI, you may wish to note that there is no method of transmitting or storing data that is completely secure. While the physical characteristics of each are different, mail, telephone calls, faxes and transmissions over the Internet are all susceptible to possible loss, misrouting, interception and misuse of the information being communicated or transmitted.

En plus des renseignements personnels et des témoins, NCESI peut recueillir des renseignements à propos de vos visites sur ses sites Web. Par exemple, nous pouvons recueillir des renseignements sur votre ordinateur, comme votre adresse IP (un numéro assigné à votre ordinateur lorsque vous naviguez sur le Web), le type de fureteur Internet et de système d’exploitation utilisés ou le nom du domaine du site Web à partir duquel vous accédez à nos sites Web. Ces renseignements ne seront pas reliés à vos renseignements personnels et ils ne feront partie que des renseignements généraux recueillis au sujet de tous les visiteurs de nos sites Web aux fins de planification, de prévision ou d’évaluation.

NCESI n’exerce pas de contrôle sur le contenu des sites Web des tiers qui peuvent être mentionnés sur le site Web de NCESI ou, le cas échéant, auxquels vous pouvez accéder grâce à des hyperliens.

8. Accès aux renseignements personnels

NCESI permet à la personne concernée d’accéder aux renseignements personnels qu’elle détient. Si une personne a des raisons de croire que les renseignements personnels à son sujet sont incorrects, elle peut demander qu’une mise à jour soit effectuée en faisant parvenir une demande à la personne dont le nom est indiqué à la rubrique 10 de la présente politique. NCESI se réserve le droit de ne pas modifier les renseignements personnels, mais joindra tout autre renseignement que la personne concernée juge approprié. Une personne peut aussi demander à NCESI qu’elle supprime des renseignements personnels la concernant des systèmes et des dossiers de NCESI. Cependant, pour des raisons techniques et parce que NCESI effectue des copies de secours de ses systèmes, des renseignements personnels peuvent demeurer dans les systèmes de NCESI une fois les renseignements supprimés. Par conséquent, les personnes ne doivent pas s’attendre à ce que les renseignements personnels les concernant soient entièrement supprimés des systèmes de NCESI à la suite de leur demande et de l’acceptation de celle-ci.

NCESI se réserve le droit de refuser l’accès à des renseignements personnels lorsque les renseignements demandés :

a) divulgueraient les renseignements personnels d’une autre personne ou d’une personne décédée;
b) divulgueraient des renseignements commerciaux confidentiels qui pourraient nuire à NCESI ou à la position concurrentielle d’un tiers; 
c) pourraient compromettre une relation avocat-client; 
d) pourraient légitimement causer :

   (i) un tort grave au traitement ou à la convalescence de la personne concernée;
   (ii) un tort émotionnel grave à la personne concernée ou à une autre personne; ou
   (iii) un préjudice corporel à une autre personne;

e) pourraient nuire à des activités d’application de la loi et à d’autres fonctions d’enquête ou de réglementation d’un organisme autorisé par décret à exercer de telles fonctions;
f) ne sont pas facilement accessibles et les efforts à déployer ou les coûts associés seraient disproportionnés en comparaison de la nature ou de la valeur des renseignements; ou
g) n’existent pas, ne sont pas en la possession de NCESI ou ne peuvent pas être trouvés.

Lorsque les renseignements ne sont pas ou ne peuvent pas être divulgués, les raisons du rejet seront fournies à la personne présentant la demande.

Lorsque les renseignements seront divulgués, NCESI s’efforcera de fournir les renseignements en question dans un délai raisonnable et pas plus de 30 jours suivant la demande.

NCESI ne répondra pas aux demandes d’accès répétitives ou vexatoires. Pour déterminer si une demande est répétitive ou vexatoire, NCESI se fonde sur des facteurs comme la fréquence à laquelle les renseignements sont mis à jour, les raisons pour lesquelles les renseignements sont utilisés et la nature des renseignements.

Afin de se protéger contre les demandes d’accès frauduleuses, NCESI exigera suffisamment de renseignements pour vérifier l’identité de la personne effectuant la demande avant de lui permettre d’accéder aux renseignements ou d’apporter des corrections.

9. Modifications aux pratiques de NCESI et à la présente politique

Le présent énoncé de politique entre en vigueur le 1er mai 2008. De temps à autre, NCESI examinera et mettra à jour ses politiques sur la protection de la vie privée et le présent énoncé de politique. En cas de modification, un avis approprié sera affiché sur les sites Web de NCESI, communiqué à nos concessionnaires et, sur demande, fourni à nos clients. Les modifications apportées à la politique s’appliqueront aux renseignements recueillis à compter de la date de parution de l’énoncé de politique révisé sur le site Web de NCESI, de même qu’à tous les renseignements que NCESI détient déjà.

10. Veuillez communiquer avec nous

Si vous avez des questions concernant : (i) l'accès à vos renseignements personnels; (ii) la collecte, l'utilisation, la gestion ou la divulgation de renseignements personnels par NCESI; ou (iii) le présent énoncé de politique, veuillez communiquer avec :

le Centre d'information à la clientèle
Nissan Canada Extended Service Inc.
5290 Orbitor Drive Mississauga, ON L4W 4Z5 
Courriel : privacy@ncesi.com
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-387-0122
Télécopieur : (905) 629-6553

Veuillez également communiquer avec nous pour :

  • demander une copie de vos renseignements personnels;
  • nous demander de ne pas communiquer avec vous; ou
  • signaler toute violation de la politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels.
HAUT